Money Manifestation Challenge Step 5 – Freedom from Debt

by therootoftherootblog

6565910-debt-free-zone-green-road-sign-in-front-of-dramatic-clouds-and-sky

(Yeahhhh, baby! You’re entering the debt free zone. Yeeeeehaw.)

Hey everyone! Welcome back to the Money Manifestation Challenge, inspired by Spiritual Catalyst Teal Scott. Wanna know what that is? Check out the original blog post and catch up reading Step 1, 2, 3 and 4.

To follow along, here’s Teal Scott’s video + article with the 12 steps written out.

Skip to 11:34 for step 5

5. Avoid debt. If you already have debt, eliminate it.

Once again, a pretty straight forward step. Not much elaboration in the video.

My Review / Experience

To be honest, my stomach sunk a little bit when I got to this step. In the video, Teal says to avoid debt because it makes one focus on lack. I was somewhat frustrated that there was no follow-up as to what to do if you’re already IN debt.

Good thing I don’t need Teal to spoon-feed me everything, huh? I decided to revisit Step 4 to help – focusing on feeling good when spending money. I have student loan debt and I pay money towards that each month. Rather than focusing on lack and regret every time I do this, on feeling poor and swindled, I am changing that focus to abundance.

I looked up my loans and what I currently owe and wrote that number down on a piece of paper. It’s only daunting if you focus on that aspect of it. I am choosing to focus on how freeing it will feel to be debt-free. Of how accomplished and amazing I will feel.

Within the past year, I’ve paid off credit debt and a small student loan by cutting down my expenses and focusing on paying them off. During that time, although I loved the feeling of paying off debt, I still perceived it as hard work, as sacrificial. I thought I had to sacrifice time and energy that could have been put towards something more enjoyable.

This topic is so loaded, I could write tons on it. Instead I’m going to try and keep it simple: focus on abundance. Focus on feeling good. Focus on the idea of money flowing in and out of my experience, and me directing it towards what I wish to. (If you need more practical advice on money, there’s so much out there! Just try to key in “positive thinking” or find a financial advisor who has a positive outlook.)

Visualizing myself paying off debt feels so good that it doesn’t feel like work or drudgery at all. It feels fun, freeing and like a great use of my time.

Daily Grateful: Free Time!

This is one of the most luxurious periods of my life thus far in regards to how I spend my time.
This is the place from which I want to attract Whatever’s Next into my life. From this open, relaxed, joyous state of being.

Yes, I have to remind myself to relax and enjoy this sometimes. It may sound strange, but this can trigger feelings of guilt in me. Shouldn’t I be worrying about something? Shouldn’t I have clear-cut responsibilities? Isn’t my freedom and joy hurting someone else? My focus right now is to be present in the here and now. To stop worrying about what I ought to be doing and enjoying what I am doing.

We’re so used to thinking of our time as not our own. Right now, there’s no doubt about it. My time is my own. I get to play guitar, learn to cook Indian food, play with kitties, goats, dogs and people. I get to meditate, do yoga, wander through the woods. I get to go on hikes, drive through the mountainous countryside, write poetry, work on my blog. I am so blessed and so grateful for all the support and love I have received. I am so grateful that this time in my life is possible and that I can relax enough to enjoy it. Thank you, everyone!

Watch my YouTube video on Step 5 to hear more about how I’m dealing positively with managing my debt, as well as other exercises to incorporate into this Money Manifestation Challenge 🙂

